---
title: "How to do MLA format in Google Docs"
description: "Need to create a document using MLA format? We’ll explain this format’s specifications and how to create your paper using MLA in Google Docs."
canonical: "https://plusai.com/jp/blog/how-to-do-mla-format-in-google-docs/"
---

Resources

# How to do MLA format in Google Docs

Need to create a document using MLA format? We’ll explain this format’s specifications and how to create your paper using MLA in Google Docs.

Sandy June 15, 2024

Are you required to compose your school essay or assignment using MLA format? We’ll explain the requirements for this format, show how to use a built-in template, and walk through formatting the document yourself using an example.

We’ll also explain how to use Plus AI in Google Docs to make adjustments to your content when you’re struggling with it.

## Requirements for the MLA format

MLA format has certain requirements including page setup, font style and size, and paragraph spacing. It’s important to follow these when writing an essay or paper using MLA format.

-   Use 8.5 by 11 inches paper size.
-   Set one-inch margins on all sides.
-   Use a 12-point font.
-   Choose a standard, legible font style such as Times New Roman.
-   Double-space the document.
-   Enter only one space after a period.
-   Indent the first line of each paragraph one half-inch (using the Tab key.)
-   Use quotation marks or italics for titles such as books and movies.
-   Insert a header placing the page numbers in the top right-hand corner aligned to the right margin.

### First-page formatting

You should also format the first page of the document a particular way.

-   Do not include a title page unless requested.
-   Include your name, instructor’s name, course, and date on the upper left side of the page.
-   Double-space and center the title beneath.
-   Double-space and enter the first paragraph below the title.

For additional MLA format instructions such as citations, lists, abbreviations, or tables, check out [Purdue Online Writing Lab](https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/mla_style/mla_formatting_and_style_guide/mla_general_format.html) on the web page for assistance.

## Method 1: Use an AI tool

To save time creating content for an MLA format page, you can use [Plus AI for Google Docs](https://workspace.google.com/marketplace/app/plus_ai_for_google_slides_and_docs/214277172452). For example, you can instruct Plus AI to add a page with a list of your references.

1.  With your Google Doc open, select **Extensions** > **Plus AI** > **Write with Plus AI**.
2.  Go to the **Generate** tab in the sidebar and enter your instructions in the **What do you want to write?** box. 

As an example, we instruct Plus AI to create an MLA works cited page with our list of book titles.

3.  Click **Generate** and you’ll see your Works Cited page in MLA format with all of the necessary book details including author, year, and publisher.

Not only does Plus AI provide you with a reference page, but it can also help do the research for you!

## Method 2: Use the Google Docs MLA template

If you need additional formatting for your document, the simplest way to create a document using MLA format is to take advantage of the Google Docs MLA template. You can obtain the template for free directly in the Google Docs Template Gallery.

1.  Visit [Google Docs](https://docs.google.com/), sign in, and open the **Template Gallery** at the top.

2.  Move down to the Education section and select the **MLA Report** template.

3.  When the template opens, change the document name per your preference and then use the placeholders to insert your own details and content.

## Method 3: Create a Google Doc in MLA format

If you don’t want to use the [Google Docs template](https://www.plusdocs.com/blog/how-to-create-a-google-docs-letterhead-template) or already have a document with content that just needs formatting, you can do so easily. Let’s walk through how to format each of the MLA requirements above for the document you see below.

### Set up the document

Selecting the page size and adjusting the margins is the best place to begin. When you access these settings, you may already have these options selected, so simply confirm.

1.  Go to **File** > **Page setup** in the menu.
2.  Confirm you have the **Pages** tab selected.some text
    -   In the **Apply to** drop-down menu, choose **Whole document**.
    -   Below **Orientation**, mark **Portrait**.
    -   For **Paper size**, pick **Letter (8.5” x 11”)**.
    -   Keep **white** as the page color unless specified otherwise.
    -   In the four margin locations on the right, enter the number **1** for each.
3.  Your settings should match the screenshot below. Select **OK** when you finish.

### Adjust the font and spacing

Next, you can set the font style and size as well as double-space the document. If you already have text in your document, be sure to select it so that the changes apply to the existing content.

1.  Select the **Font** drop-down menu in the top toolbar and choose **Times New Roman**.

2.  In the **Font size** box to the right, enter or choose **12**.

3.  Use the **Line & paragraph spacing** drop-down menu in the toolbar or **Format** > **Line & paragraph spacing** in the menu to choose **Double**.

### Insert the document header and page numbers

Finally, insert a header and add the page numbers. If requested by your instructor, you can include your last name in front of the page number as explained below.

1.  Go to **Insert** > **Headers & Footers** in the menu and pick **Header**.

2.  When the header appears, open the **Align** drop-down menu in the top toolbar and pick **Right align**. This moves your cursor to the right margin where you’ll insert the page number.

3.  Select **Options** and choose **Page numbers**.

4.  In the Page Numbers pop-up window, choose **Header** for the Position, check the box for **Show on first page**, and confirm that Start At is set to **1**.

5.  Click **Apply** and you’ll see your page numbers in the header of each page.

If you need to add your last name to the header, place your cursor in front of (to the left) of the page number and type your name with a space after. Your last name then appears in the header along with the page numbers in the entire document.

Note that if the font style isn’t set to Times New Roman in the header, simply select the text and use the **Font** drop-down menu in the top toolbar to change it.

Once you have your document set to [the above MLA format](https://docs.google.com/document/d/1-PUVsoUqwvTC4oPMiISEfv6DJM6pga8VT7XiMd6Gdv4/copy), you’re ready to go. But be sure to keep the other requirements in mind as you create your content including indenting paragraphs, using quotes or italics for titles, and inserting only one space after each period.

## Get help with changes using Plus AI

While there are arguments on both sides for [whether or not students should be allowed to use AI](https://www.plusdocs.com/blog/should-students-be-allowed-to-use-ai) in school, you may be in a situation where your instructor encourages it in some circumstances.

With Plus AI, you can get the help you need. You can take your existing content and use artificial intelligence to assist with the changes you want to make. For example, you might need to adjust the tone for a different audience or translate the text you’ve written.

Using Plus AI with Google Docs, you simply select your current content and choose a preset and/or provide instructions on how to change the text.

Along with assistance in Docs, you can use Plus AI for help with Google Slides presentations and [Microsoft PowerPoint slideshows](https://www.plusdocs.com/plus-ai-for-powerpoint). By selecting an attractive template and entering a prompt, you can instruct Plus AI to build [engaging and appealing presentations](https://www.plusdocs.com/blog/10-tips-for-more-effective-presentations).

## Conclusion

If you’re required to create an essay or other academic paper using MLA format, it’s easy to do in Google Docs. With the list of requirements, template, and example provided, you should be well on your way to a perfectly structured MLA formatted document.

For future projects, especially slideshows, remember that [Plus AI](https://www.plusdocs.com/) can assist not only with content but presentation appearance as well!

## FAQs

**How do I indent the MLA format in Google Docs?**

With the MLA format, you should indent the first line of each paragraph one half-inch. Normally, you can simply press your **Tab** key which provides the correct space for the indent.

Alternatively, place your cursor at the start of the line and move the **First Line Indent** indicator (blue line) in the Google Docs Ruler to **0.5 inches**.

**How do I do a reference page in MLA?**

In Google Docs, you can use the Citations feature to create a bibliography or works cited page. Go to **Tools** > **Citations**. In the sidebar that appears, select **MLA** for the format, add your citations, and click **Insert Works Cited** when you finish.

**Do I skip a line between paragraphs in MLA?**

The short answer is “no.” The entire document should be double-spaced including the spacing between paragraphs. Press **Enter** or **Return** only once to begin a new paragraph.

## More in Resources

-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### 最高のAI生産性ツール（2026年）：よりハードに働くのではなく、よりスマートに作業するのに役立つ20のツール
    
    AI 生産性ツールでよりスマートに作業できます。ここでは、すべてのナレッジワーカーが恩恵を受ける 20 の AI ツールを紹介します。
    
    February 6, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/jp/blog/best-ai-productivity-tools)
-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### 有益なスピーチトピックに関する150以上のアイデア
    
    次の有益なスピーチのために、これらの簡単で楽しく、教育的なアイデアや例をチェックしてください。
    
    February 2, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/jp/blog/ideas-for-informative-speech-topics)
-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### 説得力のあるスピーチトピックに関する300以上のアイデア
    
    説得力のあるスピーチトピックの選び方、インスピレーションとアイデア、始めるためのプレゼンテーション例
    
    February 1, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/jp/blog/ideas-for-persuasive-speech-topics)
