---
title: "How to insert LaTeX in PowerPoint"
description: "Here’s how to insert LaTeX in PowerPoint using two different methods."
canonical: "https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-insert-latex-in-powerpoint/"
---

Resources

# How to insert LaTeX in PowerPoint

Here’s how to insert LaTeX in PowerPoint using two different methods.

Sandy January 30, 2025

If you need to render LaTeX equations in a presentation, figuring out how make them work properly in Microsoft PowerPoint isn’t intuitive.

Luckily, there are a couple of methods for displaying LaTeX equations in PowerPoint.

We’ll show you how to insert LaTeX in PowerPoint, and also add relevant content about your equations using the Plus AI add-in.

Contents

1.  [Copy and paste from Microsoft Word](#copy-and-paste-from-microsoft-word)
    1.  [Create the equation in Word](#create-the-equation-in-word)
    2.  [Copy and paste the equation in PowerPoint](#copy-and-paste-the-equation-in-powerpoint)
2.  [Use the HoLaTeX add-in](#use-the-holatex-add-in)
    1.  [Save HoLaTeX equations](#save-holatex-equations)
3.  [Get help with mathematical content using Plus AI](#get-help-with-mathematical-content-using-plus-ai)
4.  [Conclusion](#conclusion)
5.  [FAQs](#faqs)

## Copy and paste from Microsoft Word

The easiest way to insert LaTeX in PowerPoint is actually using Microsoft Word. Because Word offers a feature to create and correctly format LaTeX equations, it’s a simple copy and paste over to your PowerPoint slide.

If you’re just writing one equation, this is probably the easiest solution. If you are looking to regularly write many equations, you probably want to use a [PowerPoint add-in](https://plusai.com/blog/best-powerpoint-add-ins) instead (we’ll show you one below).

### Create the equation in Word

1.  Open Word, go to the **Insert** tab, and click **Equation**. You can also open the Equation drop-down menu and pick **Insert New Equation**.

2.  The **Equation** tab should automatically open at the same time, but if not, select the **Equation box** in the document and then open the **Equation** tab.
3.  Choose **LaTeX** in the Conversions section of the ribbon.

4.  Enter your equation in the box and press **Enter**.

**Note**: Rather than using single or double dollar signs to indicate the start and end of the equation, you’ll use backslashes in most cases. There are some exceptions to this along with certain keywords that are unsupported. For additional information, check the Microsoft Support page for [using UnicodeMath and LaTeX in Word](https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/linear-format-equations-using-unicodemath-and-latex-in-word-2e00618d-b1fd-49d8-8cb4-8d17f25754f8).

5.  You should see your LaTeX equation render after you hit **Enter**.

### Copy and paste the equation in PowerPoint

1.  Select the rendered equation in Word by dragging your cursor through it.
2.  Right-click and pick **Copy**.

3.  Go to the slide in PowerPoint, right-click, and pick **Paste**.
4.  You’ll then have your rendered equation in PowerPoint.

It’ll be formatted as text rather than an image, so keep this in mind for any font formatting you plan to apply.

If the equation doesn’t render properly, open the arrow on the right of the **Equation box** or the **Convert** menu in the ribbon and choose **Professional**.

## Use the HoLaTeX add-in

If you prefer to go the add-in route for your PowerPoint equation, this is certainly another option. You’ll find a few different math tools in the Office Add-ins Store, but after trying them ourselves, HoLaTeX seems to be the easiest to use.

1.  Open **PowerPoint**, head to the **Home** tab, and select **Add-ins** in the ribbon.
2.  Search for “HoLaTeX”, select **Add**, and follow the subsequent prompts. Note that you’ll need to create an account to use the add-in, but you can use your existing Microsoft account.

3.  Once the add-in is installed, select it in the ribbon on the **Home** tab to display the sidebar.

4.  Click **Create** at the bottom of the sidebar, pick the **Math** tab, and choose an option. For our example, we simply select Calculus.

5.  Replace the sample text in the code box at the top with your equation. Be sure to start and end your equation with a dollar sign ($) as shown below.

6.  Click **Run** below the code box and you’ll see your equation preview at the bottom.

7.  To use the equation, select **Insert**.

You’ll see the equation added as an image and you can use the **Picture Format** tab to adjust its appearance if you like.

If you don’t want the name of the operation to display in your equation result, simply remove it from the code editor. Below, you can see we remove “Calculus” in line 6.

**Tip**: Look at ways to [make PowerPoint slides that look good](https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-make-powerpoint-slides-that-look-good).

### Save HoLaTeX equations

Optionally, give your equation a **Name** which you can do to the right of the **Run** button. This allows you to edit or reuse equations later.

You’ll see a list of your equations whenever you open HoLaTeX. Select one to open it in the editor to make changes or insert it.

## Get help with mathematical content using Plus AI

If you plan to add content to your presentation with details for the equations you’re using, [Plus AI for PowerPoint](https://plusai.com/ai-powerpoint-maker) is the perfect tool for you. With it, you can enter a simple prompt to insert content about your equation.

You can also make other edits like rewriting text or remixing slide layouts.

Additionally, you can [create entire presentations](https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-create-a-powerpoint-presentation-step-by-step) with Plus AI in PowerPoint. Whether an educational slideshow or business presentation, Plus AI is one of the smartest and most effective AI presentation makers.

Want to see more? Visit the [Plus AI website](https://plusai.com/) for complete details on features, to view the template gallery, and to start your free trial!

## Conclusion

Whether you decide to use Microsoft Word or an add-in, there are multiple ways to insert LaTeX into PowerPoint for your presentation.

And if you need help writing or designing your PowerPoint slides, check out [Plus AI](https://plusai.com/) as well.

## FAQs

**How do I insert an equation in PowerPoint?**

Go to the **Insert** tab and select **Equation** in the Symbols group. When the **Equation box** appears, enter your equation inside. You can also use the tools and symbols on the **Equation** tab to enter or edit the equation.

**How do you show formulas in LaTeX?**

If you use Microsoft Word to create your formula, you can switch to the view you initially entered using LaTeX. Click the arrow on the right side of the **Equation box** and choose **Linear**. You can then switch back to the rendered view by choosing **Professional** in that same drop-down menu.

**How do you copy and paste equations in PowerPoint?**

You can copy and paste an Equation box in PowerPoint like any other object. Select it, right-click, and pick **Copy**. Then, right-click and pick **Paste**. Alternatively, you can use the menu on the **Home** tab or keyboard shortcuts.

## More in Resources

-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### The evolution of the pitch deck (with real decks from LinkedIn, YouTube, and Airbnb)
    
    See how startup pitch decks changed from typed business plans to AI drafts, with real decks from LinkedIn, YouTube, Airbnb, and more.
    
    October 2, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/blog/evolution-of-pitch-deck)
-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### How to Convert a Document to a Presentation With AI
    
    See how to convert a document to a presentation with AI using Plus AI, with step-by-step instructions, examples, and tips for better slides.
    
    September 29, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-convert-a-document-to-a-presentation)
-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### 9 best AI agents in 2026: What each does best
    
    We compare the 9 best AI agents in 2026 for research, decks, data, and meetings—clear strengths, honest limits, and real pricing for each.
    
    September 15, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/blog/best-ai-agents)
