---
title: "How to export a slide outline from PowerPoint"
description: "If you want an outline of your presentation for review, approval, or collaboration, we’ll show you various methods to export a slide outline from PowerPoint."
canonical: "https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-export-a-slide-outline-from-powerpoint/"
---

Resources

# How to export a slide outline from PowerPoint

If you want an outline of your presentation for review, approval, or collaboration, we’ll show you various methods to export a slide outline from PowerPoint.

September 15, 2024

Maybe you’ve been asked to provide a high-level outline of your PowerPoint slideshow. Or perhaps you want to share a full outline with a coworker to get their thoughts on your presentation.

Depending on your needs and the type of output you want, we’ll show you a few different ways to export your slide outline from PowerPoint.

Contents

1.  [Create or update a slide outline in PowerPoint](#create-or-update-a-slide-outline-in-powerpoint)
    1.  [Use the Plus AI Agenda slide](#use-the-plus-ai-agenda-slide)
    2.  [Use the PowerPoint Outline view](#use-the-powerpoint-outline-view)
2.  [Method 1: Export a slide outline to Word](#method-1-export-a-slide-outline-to-word)
    1.  [Export in Word format](#export-in-word-format)
    2.  [Export in Rich Text Format](#export-in-rich-text-format)
3.  [Method 2: Export a slide outline to PDF](#method-2-export-a-slide-outline-to-pdf)
    1.  [Export to PDF on Windows](#export-to-pdf-on-windows)
    2.  [Export to PDF on Mac](#export-to-pdf-on-mac)
4.  [Method 3: Export a slide outline using copy and paste](#method-3-export-a-slide-outline-using-copy-and-paste)
5.  [Method 4: Export an outline slide](#method-4-export-an-outline-slide)
    1.  [Export the slide on Windows](#export-the-slide-on-windows)
    2.  [Export the slide on Mac](#export-the-slide-on-mac)
6.  [Conclusion](#conclusion)
7.  [FAQs](#faqs)

## Create or update a slide outline in PowerPoint

Before you grab your slide outline, confirm that it’s ready to go. This includes having a title for every slide, which provides the top level of your outline, as well as other lower-level details you need.

### Use the Plus AI Agenda slide

[Plus AI is a PowerPoint add-in](https://plusai.com/ai-powerpoint-maker) that helps you create effective slideshows from start to finish. And the tool assists with editing existing presentations as well.

When you [create a new presentation](https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-create-a-powerpoint-presentation-step-by-step), Plus AI automatically adds slide titles for you and gives you a handy Agenda slide by default. This slide is ideal because it displays all titles for you in one spot for a convenient and attractive outline.

If you already have a presentation, you can update it by instructing Plus AI to insert an outline or agenda slide with the titles from your presentation.

With either of the above, you can [export the slide](https://docs.google.com/document/d/1uG67LuV6xreWLs5-nFph0USEu4TssaWrgZD-sycP9Ko/edit#heading=h.lrfhyetgetpc) for a nice high-level outline.

Be sure to visit [Plus AI](https://plusai.com/) on the web to see the full feature set, gallery of [templates](https://plusai.com/templates), and to start your free trial!

### Use the PowerPoint Outline view

PowerPoint provides you with an Outline View that you can revise to add missing slide titles or adjust the lower-level details you need.

1.  Go to the **View** tab and choose **Outline View**.
2.  By default, you’ll see all content in the outline panel on the left.
3.  To see only the slide titles, right-click inside the panel and select **Collapse** > **Collapse All**.
4.  If you have missing titles, simply type them to the right of the slide numbers.

## Method 1: Export a slide outline to Word

One of the simplest ways to export your outline is using the built-in PowerPoint feature to send it to Microsoft Word. This method works in PowerPoint on Windows.

### Export in Word format

1.  Go to the **File** tab and choose **Export**.
2.  Select **Create Handouts** in the Export list.
3.  Choose **Create Handouts** once more to the right.

4.  In the pop-up, pick **Outline only**.
5.  Select **OK**.

After a few moments, you’ll see the file created in Word. Open the file to see your PowerPoint outline.

You’ll notice that the formatting is basic, so you can adjust the font size, use the **Outline** option on the **View** tab, or make any other changes you like.

### Export in Rich Text Format

As an alternative, you can export the file as a Rich Text Format (RTF) file. With this option, you’ll have collapsible headings for added control when you open it in Word.

1.  Go to the **File** tab and choose **Save As** or **Save a Copy**.
2.  Choose a location, name the file, and pick **Outline/RTF** in the file type drop-down list.
3.  Select **Save**.

Open the Word document from the saved location and you’ll then see a nicely structured slide outline.

## Method 2: Export a slide outline to PDF

Another method for exporting your outline is to transform it into [a PDF document](https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-convert-a-pdf-to-powerpoint). You can use this option on both Windows and Mac although the process is slightly different on each platform.

**Note**: Before you follow the steps below, keep in mind that the outline will display in the PDF as it’s shown in the PowerPoint Outline View described earlier. So, be sure to expand or collapse the outline as needed.

### Export to PDF on Windows

1.  Go to the **File** tab and choose **Export**.
2.  Select **Create PDF/XPS Document** in the Export list.
3.  Choose **Create PDF/XPS** once more to the right.

4.  In the pop-up window, select **Options**.

5.  In the subsequent window, pick **Outline view** in the Publish Options section.
6.  Adjust any other settings per your preference and select **OK**.

7.  Choose a location, name the file, and click **Publish**.

You’ll then have a PDF with the outline for your presentation.

### Export to PDF on Mac

1.  Go to **File** in the menu bar and choose **Print**.
2.  In the pop-up window, expand the **PowerPoint** section if necessary.
3.  In the **Layout** drop-down box, pick **Outline**.
4.  Adjust any other settings per your preference.
5.  Select **Save as PDF** in the **PDF** menu at the bottom.

6.  Choose a location, name the file, and click **Save**.

You can then open the PDF to see the outline for your slideshow.

## Method 3: Export a slide outline using copy and paste

If you simply want to pop the outline from your PowerPoint slideshow into a note, email, or chat conversation, you can simply copy and paste the Outline View.

1.  Go to **View** > **Outline View** and right-click to choose the **Expand** or **Collapse** option depending on the levels you want to copy.
2.  Place your cursor in the outline panel and select all items using **Ctrl + A** on Windows or **Command + A** on Mac.
3.  Right-click the selected items and pick **Copy**.

4.  Then, head to the spot where you want the outline. Right-click and choose **Paste** or use the menu options per the application you’re using.

## Method 4: Export an outline slide

If you [use Plus AI](https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-use-ai-in-powerpoint) to generate the agenda slide or have created one yourself,  you can export just that slide to use as your outline.

### Export the slide on Windows

1.  Select the agenda or outline slide.
2.  Go to the **File** tab and choose **Save As** or **Save a Copy**.
3.  Optionally edit the file name and choose an image format like JPG or PNG directly beneath.
4.  Select **Save**.
5.  In the pop-up window, pick **Just This One** to obtain only the agenda or outline slide.

Head to the location where you saved the image to see your outline.

### Export the slide on Mac

1.  Select the agenda or outline slide.
2.  Go to **File** in the menu bar and choose **Export**.
3.  Optionally edit the file name and choose an image format like JPG or PNG.
4.  Mark the **Save Current Slide Only** option.
5.  Select **Save**.

Then, open your slide image from the location where you saved it.

## Conclusion

With these various methods, you can export a slide outline from PowerPoint most any way you want. Whether a simple high-level outline slide for your supervisor or a full PDF outline for your coworker, these options have you covered!

## FAQs

**How do I make a presentation outline?**

To [write a presentation outline](https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-create-a-presentation-outline-with-examples), follow these 3 steps. Jot down your three main points for the presentation, write the supporting details or examples you’d like to have to support each point, pick an interesting introduction and memorable conclusion.

**How do I print an outline view of a presentation in PowerPoint?**

You can print an outline rather than export it with PowerPoint’s Print menu. Go to **File** > **Print** and select **Outline** in the drop-down menu of the **Settings** section. Adjust any other settings per your preference and choose **Print** when you’re ready.

**How do I export a PPT graphic?**

You can save a graphic like a photo or illustration from a PowerPoint slide in just a few clicks. Right-click the graphic and choose **Save as Picture**. Pick a location, name the file, and hit **Save**.

**How do I export PowerPoint slides as images?**

You can export an entire PowerPoint slideshow as a JPG, PNG, SVG, or TIFF image file by selecting **File** > **Save As** and picking the file format beneath the file name. Pick **All Slides** in the pop-up window.

## More in Resources

-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### The evolution of the pitch deck (with real decks from LinkedIn, YouTube, and Airbnb)
    
    See how startup pitch decks changed from typed business plans to AI drafts, with real decks from LinkedIn, YouTube, Airbnb, and more.
    
    October 2, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/blog/evolution-of-pitch-deck)
-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### How to Convert a Document to a Presentation With AI
    
    See how to convert a document to a presentation with AI using Plus AI, with step-by-step instructions, examples, and tips for better slides.
    
    September 29, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/blog/how-to-convert-a-document-to-a-presentation)
-   [
    
    Resources
    
    ### 9 best AI agents in 2026: What each does best
    
    We compare the 9 best AI agents in 2026 for research, decks, data, and meetings—clear strengths, honest limits, and real pricing for each.
    
    September 15, 2026
    
    
    
    ](https://plusai.com/blog/best-ai-agents)
